All of these reviews are verified through WeddingWire, The Knot, or Gigmasters. These are just some of my favorites - visit the sites above to read more!


"We hired Ivy Leaf to play music for the ceremony and also throughout the reception and they were absolutely wonderful! Lindsay was quick to respond to all my emails and was very organized, thorough, patient, calm, friendly, and professional in working with us. I felt ever so confident that they would arrive on time and everything would go as planned...and it sure did!! We had an outdoor wedding at an apple orchard in the fall and they were the perfect addition to the cozy and festive vibe we wanted to create. We are not much into dancing and wanted to be able to mingle with our guests for the whole reception but we also wanted to have music entertainment...Lindsay and Ivy Leaf were the perfect choice! The music was happy, lively, and festive and we received many compliments from our guests. We even purchased CD's on Amazon to give as memento gifts for our parents and other family members. Ivy Leaf was a big part of our lovely wedding day and I can not express my gratitude enough!!"

- Sarah & Sean, 10/15/16


"Lindsay is a delight to work with and a phenomenal musician! I knew I wanted a unique procession but I didn't want to just plug in an iPod and Lindsay was the answer! She made our ceremony extra special by offering such a wide array of contemporary songs (guests came up to us all night to compliment her performance and ask where we found her!) but is skilled enough to also play more traditional tunes as well. She made the planning process so much easier by making sure all questions were answered far in advance of the big day and I would suggest her in a heartbeat to anyone who is looking to hire a live musician for any event."

- Roxey & John, 9/24/16


"I had the pleasure of working with Lindsay first as a bride and as an event planner by trade I was struck by both her professionalism and warmth. I encounter a variety of vendors and manage many relationships, and Lindsay really stands out! She was so easy to work with, never mind beyond talented! After my wedding I was thrilled to able to suggest Lindsay as a great vendor to consider for some of my company events; we host multiple national sales meetings (500+ attendees) each year in addition to a number of client and prospect facing events, and we are always in the market for entertainment. I was able to book Lindsay for a hosted VIP cocktail reception for our top company performers, and again, her professionalism, communication style, and overall business acumen was unmatched. It was a huge hit and I look forward to the next event where I can partner with Lindsay. I recommend her without hesitation."

- Ariana M., Athena Health, 11/15 and 2/16


"For our wedding ceremony, we wanted to hire a guitarist. After searching online, we stumbled upon Lindsay. We knew Lindsay was the one for us when we heard her music online and saw her song list. When we met Lindsay, she was very professional and had a calming influence. She helped us coordinate our ceremony music. We chose three songs that Lindsay had on her song list, an instrumental version of a "Thousand Years" for the processional and "I Choose You" for the Recessional. We also had her sing "The Story" during our Sand/Candle ceremony. Her timing was impeccable with each song as we had requested to start some of the music while the officiant was completing a verse . This made it very unique as well as memorable for us. We also had Lindsay play an hour of cocktail music. Since she would not be present at our reception, we decided to do our first dance during the cocktail hour. We chose to have her sing "Come to Me" by the Goo Goo Dolls and we requested her to change a couple of the lyrics to suit our gorgeous location as well as being a same sex couple. Lindsay did a beautiful rendition of “Come to Me” and it made it even more special since it was tailored to us. She even provided us with a recording which we will treasure forever. Many guests inquired about her and commented how wonderful she was. We even got a call from the venue just a week after our reception requesting her contact information for another couple. We just can't say enough about Lindsay. She is a gifted musician with an angelic voice who made our day that much more memorable. We would highly recommend her to anyone!"

- Denise & Marlene, 9/19/15


"We found Lindsay after our original musician cancelled on us only a few months before the big day. I firmly believe things happen for a reason! If this had not happened, we would not have had the opportunity to work with Lindsay and enjoy her melodious voice . Listening to her sample music is what hooked me first and then her professional is what made me sign the dotted line. She sent out a questionnaire shortly after to really to get to know Steven and I. It was so detailed and well thought out; down to "what attire would you like me to wear?' I never thought to tell her what she could and could not wear. Finally, her openness and willingness to help us select the perfect wedding day compilation just completely sealed the deal! I knew that I could trust her to make our day truly special. She was very prompt the day of the event and she even answered my panicked emails the night before at some ungodly hour. 

The ceremony like most did not start on time or go quite the way it was supposed too! She played right through and made sure that my walk down the aisle had a perfectly timed beginning and end. During the reception, I had numerous guests come up to me and compliment how beautiful the musicians voice was. I would completely recommend her to any one of my friend with upcoming nuptials. I cannot write enough praise in Lindsay's name! It was such a joy and pleasure having her there!" 

- Katy U., 5/3/15


"Of all the vendors booked for our wedding, Lindsay Straw was absolutely the best! From the start, Lindsay always responded to my emails promptly (which when you are planning a wedding is very reassuring!). I knew when I heard a sample of her music that I wanted her for our big day. Her voice is so angelic and perfect for a wedding. As we got closer to my wedding, Lindsay drove an hour to meet with us at my mom's house to go over everything in person. Even though we could have done it online, I wanted to meet in person and Lindsay was so accommodating. During our meeting, my mom asked if Lindsay knew a certain song and does she take requests (at this point, Lindsay had already learned our songs so I was a little embarrassed that my mom asked that!). Two weeks later, I got an email from Lindsay that she learned the song my mom loves because she could tell how much it meant to her. The day before our wedding, we needed to change our ceremony start time because of a blizzard. Lindsay was so accommodating and it was not a problem for her to start two hours earlier. I am sad that our wedding is over and want to do it all over again! I would without a doubt, book Lindsay Straw if I could! She is a gem among a sea of musicians in the Boston area."

- Jessica W., 2/14/15


"I looked and listened to quite a few guitarist/vocalists but knew once I heard Lindsay that I wanted her for our special day. She was instantly responsive and easy going and the range of her music was incredible. She was willing to learn several songs for our special day and when I changed our first dance song at the last minute she adapted beautifully. We are still hearing raves about her performance weeks after our wedding. She truly is an amazing artist and her pricing was pot on if not under priced for what she delivered. Definitely top notch and I can't wait to get our video back to we can hear more of her from the cocktail hour. Hire her QUICK!!"

- Kecia H., 9/21/14


"We loved having Lindsay as part of our wedding day. I think we received more compliments on her playing during the reception than on any other vendor during the wedding weekend. It was just so perfect for the location and feel of our wedding. She was incredibly responsive from first email right the way through to wedding day. Lindsay learned our first dance song, and even emailed us a recording of her playing it the week before the wedding. Her voice is simply beautiful and she is a truly skilled musician. I would not hesitate to recommend her to any bride and look forward to one day being able to use her again for future celebrations."

- Samantha C., 7/28/14


"Lindsay's music really took our ceremony to another level. Coming around the corner to walk down the aisle, hearing the first few notes of the song and then her beautiful voice transported me. I walked down the aisle with both of my parents and we were laughing and joking around while waiting. As soon as she started playing the song for us, something changed, we all had immediate tears in our eyes, it was time! That was one of the most amazing moments of my life, and her music as the soundtrack was a huge part of the feeling that I remember. 

My husband and I really wanted to have a live musician play at the ceremony but we had no clue where to start looking. I went on gigmasters.com and just started listening to local musicians pages. As soon as we landed on Lindsay's and listened to her video of 'On Raglan Road' the search was over. I was sold in probably the first 10 seconds of listening. Her voice is amazing and she is SO talented. 

She wrote me back immediately and was so friendly and enthusiastic, it just made me more exited to hire her. She was super helpful in the planning of the ceremony music too. I didn't really know where to start and she walked me through what to think about, the different songs I could choose from, etc. We even had particular song in mind for the processional and she suggested a different, slower way to play it so it would make more sense for the processional. It couldn't have been more perfect in the end. 

She played for the whole cocktail hour as well and I think it created the perfect mood for our guests. Everyone loved her style and commented to me how talented she was. 

Thank you so much Lindsay, it wouldn't have been the same without you!!"

- Kendall P., 8/3/13


"Lindsay was a joy to work with. Very professional right from the start, but she also had a caring attitude. She wanted to help make the wedding even more special for us. She learned 2 new songs (she now does a great rendition of The Wedding Song by Peter, Paul & Mary) one of which was a rock song- not her genre- Beginnings by Chicago, which we used for our recessional. She arranged it perfectly! Lindsay then provided music during cocktail hour. Susan and I look forward to seeing Lindsay perform with her group soon as well. If you're looking for a musician that can put your ceremony " over the top" - Lindsay Straw is the one!"

- Mike R., 7/13/12

The Knot | TheKnot.com
Lindsay Straw: Folk Singer & Guitarist Reviews
 
WeddingWire Lindsay Straw: Folk Singer & Guitarist Reviews, Best Wedding Ceremony Music in Boston - 2015 Couples' Choice Award Winner
 
Weddings, Wedding Venues Lindsay Straw: Folk Singer & Guitarist Reviews, Best Wedding Ceremony Music in Boston - 2014 Couples' Choice Award Winner
 
Weddings, Wedding Venues Lindsay Straw: Folk Singer & Guitarist Reviews, Best Wedding Ceremony Music in Boston - 2013 Bride's Choice Award Winner
 
Gigmasters - Booking Folk Acoustic Guitarists Online Since 1997