Reviews

All of these reviews are verified through WeddingWire, The Knot, or Gigmasters. These are just some of my favorites - visit those sites to read more!


“We hired Lindsay to play during our ceremony and cocktail hour. Based on the structure of the day my wife and I really only heard the processional and recessional music but everything we heard from her was absolutely fantastic. She is both a talented singer and guitarist and has an enormous repertoire, so we were able to choose exactly what we wanted for the wedding.

Lindsay was very accommodating throughout the planning process, including playing an instrumental version of one of her songs that one of our bridesmaids, a professional singer, performed to, even sending that bridesmaid an altered recording in advance for practice. Lindsay was a delight to work with and we highly recommend her!”

- Catherine & Gillian, 6/7/19

“Lindsay and Jordan were a highlight of our wedding reception. They are very talented musicians and can play many different types of music. Our wedding was held at a camp in central Mass and we wanted a folk acoustic feel, which they can play perfectly. Lindsay and Jordan learned our favorite song for our first dance, and had everyone in tears for when we danced with our dads. She was so helpful in recommending songs for specific moments of our wedding and very accommodating and flexible when setting timelines for our day. From the beginning Lindsay was very professional and quick to respond to emails. One thing we were most impressed with was her ability to get to know us and what we wanted for music on our wedding day. They played a good balance of crowd favorites and their original songs, which gave our reception a unique and personal touch. They were naturals at feeling out the vibe of our venue/guests and setting the tone that we wanted. Lindsay and Jordan were a perfect fit for our reception and we are so happy to have booked them. The music was unique and loved by all of our guests. People were up dancing and sitting, enjoying the lovely music.

As a same-sex couple, Lindsay and Jordan were a safe and comfortable option for us.”

- Emily & Jenna, 10/13/18

“As soon as I found Lindsay's music online, I KNEW she was the one I wanted to play our wedding. She exceeded all of our expectations. Her voice and her guitar skills are unbelievably beautiful in person. On the day of our wedding, we had countless guests come up to us to ask where we found her and compliment her music. Beyond being highly talented, Lindsay was professional, responsive, and incredibly helpful from the second I contacted her. She also rented her speakers out to us for the dancing portion of the evening for an incredibly reasonable price, and stuck around to help out with them, which was an amazing deal for us as we were trying to make our wedding work on a budget. She responded graciously to every one of my dozens of emails/questions about the logistics leading up to the day. As talented as Lindsay is, she could be charging three times as much as she does (maybe I shouldn't write that), and I would encourage anyone to book her for their wedding or other event!!”

- Kate & Evan, 10/7/17

"I had the pleasure of working with Lindsay first as a bride and as an event planner by trade I was struck by both her professionalism and warmth. I encounter a variety of vendors and manage many relationships, and Lindsay really stands out! She was so easy to work with, never mind beyond talented! After my wedding I was thrilled to able to suggest Lindsay as a great vendor to consider for some of my company events; we host multiple national sales meetings (500+ attendees) each year in addition to a number of client and prospect facing events, and we are always in the market for entertainment. I was able to book Lindsay for a hosted VIP cocktail reception for our top company performers, and again, her professionalism, communication style, and overall business acumen was unmatched. It was a huge hit and I look forward to the next event where I can partner with Lindsay. I recommend her without hesitation."

- Ariana M., Athena Health, 11/15 and 2/16

"Lindsay is a delight to work with and a phenomenal musician! I knew I wanted a unique procession but I didn't want to just plug in an iPod and Lindsay was the answer! She made our ceremony extra special by offering such a wide array of contemporary songs (guests came up to us all night to compliment her performance and ask where we found her!) but is skilled enough to also play more traditional tunes as well. She made the planning process so much easier by making sure all questions were answered far in advance of the big day and I would suggest her in a heartbeat to anyone who is looking to hire a live musician for any event."

- Roxey & John, 9/24/16

"We found Lindsay after our original musician cancelled on us only a few months before the big day. I firmly believe things happen for a reason! If this had not happened, we would not have had the opportunity to work with Lindsay and enjoy her melodious voice . Listening to her sample music is what hooked me first and then her professional is what made me sign the dotted line. She sent out a questionnaire shortly after to really to get to know Steven and I. It was so detailed and well thought out; down to "what attire would you like me to wear?' I never thought to tell her what she could and could not wear. Finally, her openness and willingness to help us select the perfect wedding day compilation just completely sealed the deal! I knew that I could trust her to make our day truly special. She was very prompt the day of the event and she even answered my panicked emails the night before at some ungodly hour. 

The ceremony like most did not start on time or go quite the way it was supposed too! She played right through and made sure that my walk down the aisle had a perfectly timed beginning and end. During the reception, I had numerous guests come up to me and compliment how beautiful the musicians voice was. I would completely recommend her to any one of my friend with upcoming nuptials. I cannot write enough praise in Lindsay's name! It was such a joy and pleasure having her there!" 

- Katy U., 5/3/15

"Of all the vendors booked for our wedding, Lindsay Straw was absolutely the best! From the start, Lindsay always responded to my emails promptly (which when you are planning a wedding is very reassuring!). I knew when I heard a sample of her music that I wanted her for our big day. Her voice is so angelic and perfect for a wedding. As we got closer to my wedding, Lindsay drove an hour to meet with us at my mom's house to go over everything in person. Even though we could have done it online, I wanted to meet in person and Lindsay was so accommodating. During our meeting, my mom asked if Lindsay knew a certain song and does she take requests (at this point, Lindsay had already learned our songs so I was a little embarrassed that my mom asked that!). Two weeks later, I got an email from Lindsay that she learned the song my mom loves because she could tell how much it meant to her. The day before our wedding, we needed to change our ceremony start time because of a blizzard. Lindsay was so accommodating and it was not a problem for her to start two hours earlier. I am sad that our wedding is over and want to do it all over again! I would without a doubt, book Lindsay Straw if I could! She is a gem among a sea of musicians in the Boston area."

- Jessica W., 2/14/15

"I looked and listened to quite a few guitarist/vocalists but knew once I heard Lindsay that I wanted her for our special day. She was instantly responsive and easy going and the range of her music was incredible. She was willing to learn several songs for our special day and when I changed our first dance song at the last minute she adapted beautifully. We are still hearing raves about her performance weeks after our wedding. She truly is an amazing artist and her pricing was pot on if not under priced for what she delivered. Definitely top notch and I can't wait to get our video back to we can hear more of her from the cocktail hour. Hire her QUICK!!"

- Kecia H., 9/21/14

"We loved having Lindsay as part of our wedding day. I think we received more compliments on her playing during the reception than on any other vendor during the wedding weekend. It was just so perfect for the location and feel of our wedding. She was incredibly responsive from first email right the way through to wedding day. Lindsay learned our first dance song, and even emailed us a recording of her playing it the week before the wedding. Her voice is simply beautiful and she is a truly skilled musician. I would not hesitate to recommend her to any bride and look forward to one day being able to use her again for future celebrations."

- Samantha C., 7/28/14

"Lindsay's music really took our ceremony to another level. Coming around the corner to walk down the aisle, hearing the first few notes of the song and then her beautiful voice transported me. I walked down the aisle with both of my parents and we were laughing and joking around while waiting. As soon as she started playing the song for us, something changed, we all had immediate tears in our eyes, it was time! That was one of the most amazing moments of my life, and her music as the soundtrack was a huge part of the feeling that I remember. 

My husband and I really wanted to have a live musician play at the ceremony but we had no clue where to start looking. I went on gigmasters.com and just started listening to local musicians pages. As soon as we landed on Lindsay's and listened to her video of 'On Raglan Road' the search was over. I was sold in probably the first 10 seconds of listening. Her voice is amazing and she is SO talented. 

She wrote me back immediately and was so friendly and enthusiastic, it just made me more exited to hire her. She was super helpful in the planning of the ceremony music too. I didn't really know where to start and she walked me through what to think about, the different songs I could choose from, etc. We even had particular song in mind for the processional and she suggested a different, slower way to play it so it would make more sense for the processional. It couldn't have been more perfect in the end. 

She played for the whole cocktail hour as well and I think it created the perfect mood for our guests. Everyone loved her style and commented to me how talented she was. 

Thank you so much Lindsay, it wouldn't have been the same without you!!"

- Kendall P., 8/3/13

Couples love us! See our reviews on The Knot.
One of the most outstanding GigMasters members for 2018!